Tonawanda News

Local News

December 21, 2012

KMH gets an 'A' for patient safety

GRADES: Evaluations look at hospitals across the country.

Tonawanda News — Kenmore Mercy Hospital received high marks in two recent national reports that viewed safety and health outcome as part of the determinations.

The Leapfrog Group, a national business organization gave Kenmore Mercy an “A” for hospital safety, while a study by the the Healthgrades Report to the Nation ranked the hospital’s joint replacement services among the top 5 percent in the nation and second in New York state.

The hospital also received the HealthGrades Joint Replacement Excellence Award and was a five-star recipient for joint replacement, total knee replacement and total hip replacement.

“Kenmore Mercy’s continuous level of high performance in these ratings is due to the diligent work of our physicians, nurses, staff and volunteers, who give our patients both the care and the safe environment they deserve,” said James M. Millard, president and chief executive officer of Kenmore Mercy Hospital. “These ratings show that our focus on enhancing quality and patient safety is working to benefit our patients.”

The Leapfrog Group uses publicly available data on patient injuries, medical and medication errors, and infections to grade hospitals on their overall performance in keeping patients safe from preventable harm and medical errors. Hospitals across the country received an A, B, C, D, or F for their overall safety. According to The Leapfrog Group, hospitals that receive a D or F rating pose a hazard to patients.

The Healthgrades Report to the Nation evaluates how approximately 4,500 hospitals nationwide performed on risk-adjusted mortality and complication rates for nearly 30 of the most common conditions treated and procedures performed from 2009 to 2011.

Kenmore Mercy’s Leapfrog rating comes on the heels of the hospital receiving several other quality and patient safety recognitions in 2012. Earlier in the year, the hospital received the “Pathway To Excellence” designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, and the “Silver Beacon Award for Excellence,” presented by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses to recognize the nation’s highest performing hospital intensive care units.

Text Only
Local News