Tonawanda News


March 21, 2013

Local high school students receive 'quality' honors

Tonawanda News — A local tradition continued Wednesday night, as the 47th annual Quality Students banquet was held at Banchettis Banquet Facility in Amherst.

Mark Saltarelli is the chairman of the Quality Student committee, which honors outstanding students from three local high schools: North Tonawanda, Tonawanda and Cardinal O’Hara.

“It’s not just honor students, but students who in various fields, whether it be technical shop, athletics, academics or whatever else, set themselves apart from others in that field,” Saltarelli said.

Each school has its own criteria that it uses to select Quality Students, but Saltarelli said much of it is based on community involvement and participation in school activities.

Andrew Haskill, a 2006 graduate of Tonawanda High School, and former Quality Student, gave a speech which echoed Saltarelli’s emphasis on community involvement.

“Please never forget your community or the groups that allowed you to get to this point,” Haskill said. “Share your time and talents with others, and make the Tonawandas a better place by getting involved.” 

Haskill, a data analyst for Citi, also talked about the importance of finding a career, a topic the keynote speaker Molly E. Irvin-Peter talked almost exclusively about.

Irvin-Peter is the co-owner of Holland Land Title & Abstract, and her speech focused on the challenges that come with a career.

“If you think your parents and teachers have been hard on you, wait until you get a boss,” Irvin-Peter said.

“I’ve had some great successes but I’ve also had a few setbacks,” she said, noting she was lucky enough to be living with her parents during the 10 months it took her to find a job after college.

The students receiving this honor seemed to have similar support from their parents — most of the honorees were accompanied by them.

The dinner had a family feel to it, as many of 65 Quality Students’ names were followed by mentions of their moms, dads, brothers and sisters having previously received the honor. 

Text Only