Tonawanda News


June 11, 2008

LOCAL BOWLING: Tonawandas USBC City Championships winners announced

Another local bowling season is in the books, culminating Wednesday at the Tonawandas USBC Association annual meeting at the Dom Polski Hall in North Tonawanda.

Winners from the recent 66th annual Tonawandas USBC City Championships were honored, while end-of-season awards were also handed out. Be sure to read Friday’s edition of the Tonawanda News for the winners of the awards.

The Niagara Falls team of Bill Gerfin, Paul Wanecski, Bob Ingalsbe, Mike Klis and Mark Doel took first place in the open team division, rolling a combined 3,710 with handicap applied. The Cheektowaga women’s team of Darlene Spratford, Jennifer Redlein, Heather Frys, Lorie Digati and Lisa Redlein took first in the women’s handicap division, finishing with 3,514. Finally, the Kenmore team of Robert Hakes, Justin Knobloch, Kevin Kirchberger (Lockport), Joseph Rubrecht and Dan Hoadley took first in the scratch division, with 3,400.

In the open doubles division with handicap applied, the Cheektowaga team of Christian Bahleda and Patrick Miller took first, with 1,533. The Grand Island duo of Digati and Spratford were first in the women’s doubles handicap division, racking up a score of 1,549.

In the mixed doubles handicap division, the Buffalo team of Patty Ann Szaflarski and James Lepsch won with 1,552. The Williamsville team of Michael DeMartinis and Edward Lavery won the scratch doubles with a score of 1,471. The team of Carroll and Carrie Racsumberger won the women’s scratch division with 1,292.

In the open singles with handicap applied, Anthony Marchese of North Tonawanda was first in the division with an 837. Coleen Overholt of Tonawanda took first in the women’s singles division with handicap, rolling 785. Tonawanda’s Michael Hanes was first in the men’s scratch with 735, while Carroll was fist in the women’s scratch with 671.

In the all-events open division with handicap applied, North Tonawanda’s David Powers Jr. took first, compiling a score of 2,320. Barbara Dojnik of Lockport was first in the women’s handicap all-events, with 2,284, while the men’s scratch all-events went to Williamsville’s Lavery, with 2,178.

Rounding out the winners in the women’s scratch all-events was Carroll yet again, with 1,958.

In other association business Wednesday, a $1,000 scholarship was awarded to Amy Domiano, a student at the Buffalo Academy of Visual and Performing Arts.

Also, Tonawandas USBC President Karen Baryza was re-elected to a three-year term.

Contact editor Jay Skurski at 693-1000, ext. 117.

Text Only