Tonawanda News

The Town

July 3, 2014

Ken-Ton appoints board leaders

Tonawanda News — The Ken-Ton School Board will be led by President Bob Dana and Vice President Stephen Brooks again this year.

The board unanimously voted to appoint Dana and Brooks to their positions at the body's reorganizational meeting Tuesday night. Annemarie Gibson, a teacher, and Jill O'Malley, a professor and the founder of the Ken-Ton Parent Alliance, were sworn in as board members.

The district also appointed Lilyen Mascellino as the Hamilton Elementary School Principal. Mascellino will serve in the position until 2016, when the school will close as part of the consolidation project. She has been granted a two-year leave from her position as the Ken-Ton program supervisor.

Mascellino replaced Michael Huff, who has taken over as principal of Hoover Elementary School.

"We are looking forward to Ms. Mascellino's leadership," Superintendent Mark Mondanaro said. "The school will be closing in two years and the students, faculty and parents of Hamilton Elementary School will benefit greatly from her experience, as she led the Jefferson Elementary School closing as well."

Mascellino has 10 years of administrative experience in the district as a program supervisor, interim principal and district English as a second language principal. She is a former teacher in Buffalo Central School District's Native American Magnet School #19.

Text Only
The Town